Go to Main menu Go to Body Go to Bottom
Introduction to the Mutual Equivalence Agreement for Organic Processed Foods

Equivalence Arrangement

ROK-EU Equivalence Arrangement

ROK-EU Organic Equivalence Arrangement

  • The arrangement between Republic of Korea and the EU becomes effective on February 1, 2015 pursuant to Article 25 of the Act on Promotion of Environmentally-Friendly Agriculture and Fisheries and Management of and Support for organic food, etc. (hereinafter referred to as "Korean Organic Food Act").
  • As long as processed products that are certified as organic in either country meet the following requirements, the products may be labeled as organic in both countries without additional certification procedures.
  • 1. Counterpart country: the European Union
  • 2. The scope of recognition covers products which:
    • ① are certified to the EU or Korean organic regulations and have their final processing within EU or Korea
    • ② are "processed foods", as defined by the importing country’s classification standard
    • ③ contain at least 95% organic content
  • 3. Effective period: till further discussion
  • 4. Terms of recognition
    • ① Both EU and Korean organic regulations prohibit using prohibited substances or methods (e.g. synthetic pesticides, GMO, or irradiation). The importing country’s audit and subsequent actions will be applied in case the use of prohibited substances during clearance and distribution.
    • ② The importing country’s regulations should be applied to labeling contents.
  • 5. Original copy of the agreement: Korea->EU (English version, Korean version), EU-> Korea(English version, Korean version)
  • 5-1. Original copy of the extended arrangement: Korea→EU(English version, Korean version), EU-> Korea(English version, Korean version)
  • 6. Others
    • The arrangement is effective on February 1, 2015 when the process of amending Commission Regulation (EC) No. 1235/2008 to include ROK to the list of recognized third countries is finished.
  • ※ EU Member States
    • Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom
  • Please refer to Q&A if you have any other questions.